Cordially Introducing Chris!

castle rockMy name is Chris Kiefer, and I am just starting my third year at the University of Washington as a Political Science major with minors in History and International Studies. In my spare time I enjoy reading books, watching movies and TV shows, doing word puzzles and playing ultimate Frisbee. Growing up in California, I would visit primarily state parks for camping, hiking, etc. Every summer we would camp for a weekend at our favorite state park, and then get breakfast at a well-known local restaurant before going home and getting back to the humdrum of everyday life. I am interested in the politics of environmentalism—how nonprofits, Congress and other government agencies can work together to ensure that we are doing all we can to preserve the environment and inspire others to want to do so as well.

1. Where do you hail from?

I was born and raised in San Jose, California

2. What are your top 3 biggest adventures?

-Once, while on a family camping trip, we took a hike that was much longer and more strenuous than we had originally intended. It took us past an abandoned jail (we didn’t know that at the time), and actually into the neighboring park.

-Also as a child, we drove up the west coast (Highway 101), camping each night all the way from San Jose to Seattle. The weather was not always friendly, but it made for an interesting experience nonetheless.

-When we took a trip to Boston, I spent a whole bunch of time wandering around the city, particularly on the Freedom Trail; that was one of the best exploration experiences I’ve ever had.

3. What is the strangest food you have eaten?

I am very much not an adventurous eater, but off the top of my head I think the strangest thing I’ve eaten has been cappuccino potato chips.

4. Have you had other intern/volunteer experience?

From when I was 13 until I was 18, I volunteered a few weeks each summer at a nature-oriented day camp as a counselor for children aged 5-12. Additionally I volunteered for a local police department from when I was 15 until I left for college at 18.

5. If you could travel anywhere, what would your dream destination be?

I would really like to visit the country of Norway, to see the forests and fjords.

6. Favorite breakfast item?

I love biscuits and gravy. Also tea. I drink ridiculous amounts of tea

7. What did you want to be growing up?

When I was a kid I wanted to be a policeman/detective

8. What is your go-to song to sing in the shower?

I’m not too much of a shower-music-listener, but if I did, it would probably be upbeat classic jazz standards (i.e. Mack the Knife, Lady is a Tramp)

9. Favorite topic of discussion?

As far as discussion is concerned, I’ll talk about anything from movies/TV shows to books to politics to the weather.

10. A favorite memory of my backyard:

As a kid, I would love to ride my bicycle up and down the block in front of my house. Often times the neighbor kids would join me and we would run races, or try to do tricks…just generally have the times of our lives.

4 thoughts on “Cordially Introducing Chris!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s